Suspension Is your ride slammed to the ground? Did you lift it so high you need a ladder to get in? Step in and let's talk about it...

Corvette brakes on a Acura

  #1  
Old 09-02-2007, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

I just sent out a set of 1997-2007 corvette brakes to the machine shop.



GOAL...

to see if i can have 13 inch fronts and 11 inch rear breaks on my acura for under 500 bucks.



I found the full set of brakes used through a vett junk yard in colorado

payed 300 for all 4 rotors and all 4 calipers. then they threw in softlines and e-brake cables.



the corvette runs 17-18 inch rims. so i guess its a good thing im running 17's all the way around.



I hope to be able to get out of trouble almost as fast as i get into it.


 
  #2  
Old 04-15-2008, 02:07 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default


< src="http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" =text/>
</>
How are they going to fit? And do they have another set. Ive got Rotora 6 piston on my Sc400 and im turboing my Acura 6 speed so I need brakes. I think Dv8 said Willwood makes a set for our car. Let me know how i can get em. Thanks
< =text/>
_uacct = "UA-939292-41";
urchinTracker();
</>
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-2008, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

i ran into 2 issues
1 is the corvette rotors have a bigger center. so there not hub centric. and it causes a ballance issue

2 the machine work on the adapters to go from the corvette caliper to the ledgend knuckle runs about 200 bucks a side

i like the corvette stuff its engineered to work for 200k miles and stop a 4000 pound 345hp elephant.

and should make my little gen 1 legend stop on a dime and give change.

some day i will find a cheep alternitave to those aftermarket braking systems.

till then it looks like the wallet will need to hemorage a little more.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-2008, 12:29 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default


< src="http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js" =text/>
</>
So does it work? I would like them if you can get them machined right. Can you still get a set from the junkyard? And how are the calipers going to mount? Are you having brackets made?If you can get this done it would save me some money on gettin a big brake package, I would gladly give you a hundread or two for diong this for me. But I dont want them till you do it to yours first. Can you read the post I wrote last night on turboing my car I need help kinda quick. Turboing C32a. Thanks[img]smileys/smiley8.gif[/img]
< =text/>
_uacct = "UA-939292-41";
urchinTracker();
</>
 
  #5  
Old 04-16-2008, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

SURElet me get the dust knock off the parts and run them to the machine shop.

also my legend is a gen 1 and has a totally different spindal assembly.but i have access to the gen 2 suspension as well.

the cool part about the corvette caliper mounts is that there the same design as honda/acura. so its a simple matter or building a plate adapter between the 2.



 
  #6  
Old 09-13-2008, 09:14 AM
L3GDKANG/JDM-KA's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 285
Default

so do you think this can be done to aG2 legend?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
andykhol23
Off Topic
4
11-04-2008 10:22 AM
Brich
General Tech
0
08-07-2008 09:51 AM
ralphy1798
TL
4
12-24-2007 10:11 AM
teg'00
Integra
6
05-09-2007 09:22 PM
rudeness
Integra
2
06-17-2006 12:26 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Corvette brakes on a Acura


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.