General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here...

Troubleshooting Blues

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2006, 06:58 PM

<DIV id=post_message_2739820>I am an auto mechanics rookie, who is trying to save some bucks. I own a 99 Integra GSR with 93,000 miles. I am troubleshooting a low speed sagging problem (LSSP); i.e., the engines runs rough at low rpms (&lt;2,000). The timeline of my troubleshooting adventure transpired as follows:

Performed a tune up; i.e., changed spark plugs, wires, distributor, rotor, and fuel filter.
Changed the timing belt with the assistance of a professional.
LSSP surfaced shortly after the timing belt change. Car idled great and ran smoothly at higher rpms (&gt;2,000).
Changed to correct spark plugs after I realized that I put the wrong ones in when I originally tuned it up.
After about one week, the LSSP resurfaced and the car began idling roughly, the fuel economy decreased, and the exhaust gas appeared heavier than normal.
Changed the oxygen sensor (before catalytic converter). The spark plugs appeared black.
The engines idles better and the exhaust appears normal. However, the LSSP problem reappears when the engine is up to operating temperature.
What next? I will clean your toilet(s) if you can suggest the solution.

Regards,

Deniroisgreat</DIV>

Old 02-02-2006, 01:41 PM