RL Acura's 300HP All Wheel Drive luxury sedan...

Need to run wire from engine bay to cabin

  #1  
Old 07-16-2007, 08:22 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,

I have an '04 Acura RL. The stupid cig lighters are only on when the car is on. I want to run my own wire from the battery into the cabin. I will install a cig lighter outlet under the dash so I can keep my PDA powered all the time.

I did this on my camry and it was really easy. There was an obvious place to drill a little 1/8" hole. I can't find a similar place on the RL.

Any advice?

THANKS!
John

 
  #2  
Old 07-24-2007, 11:24 PM
WheelBrokerAng's Avatar
Administrator :
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canton/Massillon Ohio 44646
Posts: 29,276
Default



Sorry that I cant help you on that question...but I want to Thank You for joining up in this forum...


[img]smileys/smiley2.gif[/img]WheelBroker1
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

first of all dont drill any holes there are power take off points in the fuse box



on the top of the fuse box you will find a few spade terminals with
nouthing plugged into them use a test light, turn off the car and look
for a power sourse.



please make sure to use a fuse in this new wire somewhere.



if no terms are up there then you can always slip a wire end behind a fuse leg and replug the fuse back into the fusebox.



again use a test light, turn off the car and look for a power sourse.



happy hunting.



P.S. drilling a hole and NOT installing a rubber gromit Will chafe the
wire and cause a electrical short. and if not fused it WILL cause
a fire.


 
  #4  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:14 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your reply. I'm disappointed it took so long for someone to reply.

When I drilled a hole in my camry I certainly used a rubber grommit around the whole AND I fused it at both the battery and at the outlet.

On the Acura I came up with what may be a better solution.

I bought a deep cycle AGM Optima battery. I mounted it securely in the trunk. I bought a Solar Linq 400 mAh solar cell that I mounted in the rear deck of the car.

I put a 3-outlet cig socket in the trunk and another under the drivers seat. I plugged a bluetooth GPS in the back and mounted it in the rear deck. I have the cell phone and PDA mounted in the front of the car and getting power from the front sockets.

So far I have not had to charge the battery. The solar cell puts enough juice in the battery to keep all my gear running. It may be different in the winter when the sun isn't so bright and the temperature is colder.

The whole deal costs around $300. I'm happy with it because there is no risk of me running down the car's battery if I don't drive the car for a week.

 
  #5  
Old 09-15-2007, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

sweet and well thought out.



do you know the mha rating of the solar charger? and how much???




 
  #6  
Old 09-15-2007, 07:54 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default

The solar panel is 6.5 watts or about 433 mA. I bought it from the following link. It's a great design and very durable. I can pull it out of the car and take it out in the woods.

http://store.altenergystore.com/Back...lobal-Solar-Su nlinq-65Watt-12V-Portable-Power-Pack/p573/

The battery is an Optima D34 which is rated at 55 Ah. I bought it from the local Advance Auto parts for around $150.

John

 
  #7  
Old 09-15-2007, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

oh cool so if i bought 15 of these and installed them i could remove my alternator.





and might as well pull the headlights out to cuz i aint going any where at night.



thanks for the reply i will be checking it out.

great link too.


 
  #8  
Old 09-15-2007, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Default

OOps bad math. it would take 150 to eliminate a alternator.



[img]smileys/smiley29.gif[/img]


 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jdtechtalk00
TSX
5
08-17-2013 11:22 AM
dfkruger
General Tech
7
09-30-2008 02:00 PM
TSXtreme05
General Tech
1
03-05-2008 01:16 AM
lm649
RSX
0
10-08-2007 11:30 PM
94 civic ls
General Tech
1
12-12-2005 03:37 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Need to run wire from engine bay to cabin


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.